Die with Dignity – We Wish….


When I first began this, my last blog, I wanted very much to express my feelings about dying.  As the last months have passed, I realize more and more, I want to express my feelings MORE about living than death.  Funny thing happened on the way to death:  I have learned that we humans cling to living much more than we ever thought.

* * *

I have read stories and followed stories in the news about families who literally insist a member of their family whom they love so dearly – NOT die…but continue to be kept alive on life support.  All sorts of events transpire from there – the media jumps on board, medical “heads” have something to spout off about on FOX or CNN or whatever television programming they have found to get on-board with.  (Shame on all of you involved in mixing yourselves into such a private and spiritual part of humans life and death experiences).  It’s none of your darned business, and if there’s a family member spurring it on, shame on them too…death is an experience that I seriously doubt any one of us who are alive want complete strangers yelling across oak tables on television about . . . “they should do this, they should do that, they should, they are wrong, they are right….bla bla bla….”

* * *

How horrified I would be to have a legacy left behind like that (unless everyone gets paid and ALL the money goes to a worthwhile charity).  I say that with my tongue in my cheek….

* * *

Then there’s the story of Terry Pratchett – http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0120dxp who looked seriously into the eyes of death ala Diginitas in Switzerland.  Do you blame him?  I certainly don’t, nor do I feel anyone has a right to cast an opinion on such a personal feeling and decision. 

* * *

My question tonight is simple.  Can anyone die with dignity?  Is there such a thing?  I wonder….I wish for it, but perhaps it’s a dream that won’t be there, and I have simply wished for it to be so.

* * *

I face one thing:  I have loved life.  And, I believe we all look for that new day rising….

Leave a Reply

