Compassion


It seems these days we don’t have an opportunity to see, feel, and hear much compassion in others.  Perhaps childlishly (or not!) I avoid watching television news lately…I don’t find much compassion or caring there.  Lots of makeup, beautiful hairstyles, and clothing though….

Last night I caught a moment of a newscaster reading the teleprompter with a pasted-on smile, seeming to be rather delighted to be at work….reporting a killing of a small child.  That scares the heck out of me.  Both the smile and the news.  Where is our compassion and feeling for each other?  Have we lost it all?

I get the feeling that we humans have really been making a mess of things lately.

Looking back in my past, I am ashamed to remember the times that I displayed my anger AND lack of compassion for others – and that bothers me because I know anger gets me nowhere positive – that’s for sure.  But, jeez, that doesn’t mean that I need to grin and tell the news…it means that I need to wake up, smell the coffee and reach out with compasson to

Friends

Friends = Happiness

those around me who need help.  I hope that as the world changes, it may change for the better – – compassion would surely be a great place to begin

– – – – – –

This little story below stopped me dead in my tracks one day and I’ve been hanging on to it for awhile…I think you’ll agree: it has a great message for all of us!.

During my second year of nursing school our professor gave us a quiz. I breezed through the questions until I read the last one: “What is the first name of the woman who cleans the school?” Surely this was a joke. I had seen the cleaning woman several times, but how would I know her name? I handed in my paper, leaving the last question blank. Before the class ended, one student asked if the last question would count toward our grade. “Absolutely,” the professor said. “In your careers, you will meet many people. All are significant. They deserve your attention and care, even if all you do is smile and say hello.” I’ve never forgotten that lesson. I also learned her name was Dorothy. ~Joann C. Jones

– – – –

Compassion, Friendship, Kindness . . . We Need Those Attributes More Than Anything in Our Lives! Be a Friend, Give Graciously, and Life Will be Bring us More Happiness…

Thank you to all of our family and friends who have been helping us through these days of helplessness we have felt over the past several years.

Mark and Debbie

Mark and Debbie - Compassion and Friendship - Thank you for sharing your friendship through all these years!!

Leave a Reply

